more news... back to home page...

The Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year event will be held at Vicar Street, Dublin on TUESDAY FEBRUARY 28th.

Nine of the ten acts on the Choice Music Prize shortlist will attend and perform live - the only absentee will be The Chalets, who will be on tour in Europe with the Kaiser Chiefs.

The acts who will be performing at Vicar Street on Tuesday February 28th are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Bell X1
Cane 141
Joe Chester
Duke Special
Julie Feeney
Nick Kelly
Emmett Tinley

The winner of the Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year will be announced on the night. This winner will be selected by the judging panel, who will meet on the night to select the album which best sums up 2005 in Irish music.

The winning act will receive 10,000 euros, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

The act will also receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the Recorded Artists And Performers Ltd (RAAP).

The winning album will also benefit from a full advertising campaign from Today FM.

The Choice Music Prize event will be covered live on Tom Dunne’s Pet Sounds on Today FM on February 28th from 7pm to 11pm (the show will be extended specially to cover the event).

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize event cost 25 euros (including booking fees) and a limited number of tickets have now gone on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets.

The Choice Music Prize - Irish Album of the Year is a new award which has been established to celebrate and acknowledge the work of Irish musicians.

Every single year, hundreds of albums are released by Irish artists in every genre, from indie, trad and pop to electronic and jazz.

The Choice Music Prize aims to highlight those albums which deserve some extra time in the spotlight and, ultimately, to select the album which best sums up the year in Irish music

Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Choice Music Prize will focus, simply and solely, on the music.

The Choice Music Prize is co-ordinated by Dave Reid and Jim Carroll. Jim Carroll will be the judging panel’s non-voting chairman.

[Dave Reid runs Broadcast Mgt & Events, the company who also organise the National Student Music Awards. Jim Carroll is a music journalist with The Irish Times]

The shortlist for the Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of the Year 2005 – is as follows (albums in alphabetical order):

Bell X1 "Flock" (Island)
Cane 141 "Moonpool" (Exceptional)
The Chalets "Check-In" (Setanta)
Joe Chester "A Murder of Crows" (Barp)
Duke Special "Adventures In Gramophone" (Hag)
Julie Feeney "13 Songs" (Self-released)
Hal "Hal" (Rough Trade)
Nick Kelly "Running Dog" (Self Possessed)
Emmett Tinley "Attic Faith" (Independent Records)
Turn "Turn" (Setanta)

The shortlist has been selected by a panel consisting of 12 media professionals representing Irish print, radio and TV from the four corners of the island.


There is no email address submitted by the author of this article. Return to main News section
Printer-friendly version